Ada Capstone: Day 1

Yesterday marked the end of the classroom portion of the Ada Developers Academy for “lucky” cohort 13.

While today officially marks the start of a break week, for most of my 46 classmates it actually marks the start of a week of research, tutorials, and planning for our capstone projects.

By 9 am on Monday we must submit our tech stacks, and it’s the first time we’ve had choice in what technology we use. For me, I picked my project, platform, and front-end quickly. I’m going to make a motivational pomodoro-style timer to help people focus and be productive. I’m going to build it as a React website, with a Chrome extension. But I had no idea where to go with a back end, servers, databases, oh my!

Today’s research involves learning a lot about AWS products like DynamoDB

My big accomplishment: I bought a domain name!
My big challenge: Deciding where to start! There’s so much information out there. But I’m a kinesthetic learner, should I just start with a tutorial or two? Or do I start reading?

Published by TheNoraR

Lover of all things web and geeky. Social media? More! Web analytics? Uh huh! Games? Yes please. Any chance I have to relate those to non-profits makes me happy. I'm passionate about my local, online, and global community.

Leave a comment